Whole Wheat

This is the last simple recipe for a while, looking ahead; some of the upcoming recipes have long ingredient lists or time-consuming prep. So enjoy this easy one! After this, it starts getting more complicated.

The recipe

Beat together

1 egg, well beaten

1 scant cup brown sugar

1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. vanilla

Add and mix in until blended

1 cup sour cream

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 tsp. baking powder

1 scant tsp. baking soda

Dorothy neglected to note baking time or temperature. I went with 375F for 15 minutes and they were perfect. 

Makes nine muffins, for some reason. NINE. I find this weird.

The process

So easy. Easy like the classic Basic Muffins from week one. Chuck all ingredients into a small bowl, mix, done. No stand mixer or fiddling around required.

I used dark brown sugar because I forgot to buy light brown sugar on the weekend.

I also didn’t use quite a full cup of sour cream because someone had dipped into the container I bought. It was probably me. It was that kind of weekend.

Once all your ingredients are mixed, let the batter rest for a couple of minutes until air bubbles form. You’ll know it’s rested for long enough when the batter has a dry, foamy consistency.

I used 1/4 cup of batter per muffin, which again, made nine muffins. I’m guessing you could easily double or triple this recipe though.

The result

These muffins look more muffin-ish than any other batch I’ve made. They rose beautifully and have a very pleasing golden brown colour. They smell fantastic – faintly nutty – and overall yield a great result for minimal effort.

Texture-wise they are quite light; if you like a denser, heavier muffin these will not be for you. They are a touch bland, although you could easily fix that by adding spices of your choice, or fruit – I’m imagining these with double the vanilla and some blueberries, and getting pretty excited.

They are not too sweet, not too heavy – just a nice, simple whole wheat muffin that clearly would lend itself well to modifications. They take no time at all to put together and bake, and are a great addition to my go-to easy recipe repertoire.

Next week

Apricot Oatmeal. Ingredients to buy:

  • 4.5 oz jar apricot puree (Dorothy says “jar of apricot baby food”. I haven’t got a clue if one can buy a jar of plain pureed apricot baby food these days; guess I’ll find out).
  • 1/2 chopped dried apricots
  • 1/3 cup raisins

 

2 comments on “Whole Wheat

  1. […] Monday: First course: cucumber raita Second: basil-coconut chicken/tofu Dessert: whole wheat muffins […]

  2. MaryP says:

    Oops. I forgot to let the batter sit for a while. That’s probably why they were so very dense. However, I prefer bread-y to cake-y muffins, so that suited me just fine! Next time I’ll put wheat germ and some fruit in there. Oh, and I switched out Greek yogurt for sour cream, and it worked just fine.

Leave a Reply

