Oatmeal Orange

My friend Lila of Sweet and Lovely Crafts modified last week’s Oatmeal recipe with some additional spices and a smidge less sugar. You can see her take on it here. I haven’t tried her version yet but it sounds fantastic. I know that Nicole from Cooking in the Boyhouse has been experimenting with vegan versions of some recipes here, too. Please, all of you feel free to share the recipes, tinker with them as you see fit, and post links in the comments to your results if you wish. If you’d like to put any of these recipes on your own blogs feel free; all I ask is that you link back to this blog and give credit to Dorothy!

OK. This week I roped Michael into helping with the muffins, and I learned that my husband is a darling man who will help bake in exchange for being allowed to lick the bowl afterwards. That’s fair.

The recipe

Combine in a small bowl and let sit until all liquid is absorbed

1 cup best-for-baking oats

1/2 cup orange juice

1/2 cup boiling water

Cream together

1/2 cup margarine (regular readers will know I always use butter instead, because butter)

1/2 cup white sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

Add

2 eggs, beaten

1 tsp vanilla

Stir in oats

Add

1 cup raisins (or other dried fruit)

Sift together and add to mixture

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

Bake at 350F for 20 minutes. Makes 12 large muffins.

The process

The most complicated thing about this recipe was finding the last can of frozen orange juice concentrate in the very back of the freezer and mixing it up. Otherwise, this is a straightforward recipe with no complicated steps. Lots of simple measuring and probably a good one for doing with small children who love to ‘help’ in the kitchen.

The batter had a strange taste; kind of orange, a little, but otherwise a trifle bland. Not unpleasant, but nothing to write home about.

The result

They smelled quite nice while baking. These ones needed the full 20 minutes to bake all the way through, and for some reason mine got a little browner around the edges than I would normally like. (This may be a function of my oven, which irritates me more with each passing week. It heats unevenly and I’m not convinced the temperatures are accurate. Yes, I need an oven thermometer.)

The texture is surprisingly light; usually oatmeal muffins have a bit of heft to them but these just fall apart when you bite them. The citrus is more of an aftertaste than a strong note; adding some orange zest would be a nice touch, I think.

The sweetness is just right, which is a nice change – I have found that a lot of Dorothy’s recipes to date have been almost too sweet for my tastes. After one bite I started wishing for a cup of tea to accompany my snack.

I like last week’s plain Oatmeal better, but these are just fine, and with a few little tweaks could be an excellent breakfast muffin.

Next week

Plain whole wheat. You will need a cup of sour cream – everything else you’ll likely have on hand.

 

3 comments on “Oatmeal Orange

  1. Nicole says:

    I like orange flavoured things so this sounds really nice! And – AND – I bet this one would be easy to make vegan. I’ll try it and link back if I post on my blog 🙂

  2. MaryP says:

    Yum! They really, reeeally worked well with cranberries, even though I couldn’t really taste the orange. They were dense and moist … and took a solid 30 minutes in my oven! I suspect I could easily have made 16 muffins from my batter, though, and had I done that, they’d have cooked in less time, I’m sure.

  3. […] Monday First course: red cabbage and apple salad Main course: black bean soup on fusilli pasta Dessert: Oatmeal Orange muffins […]

Leave a Reply

