Date

I’m committed to the process of muffin-making. I really am! But last week’s Date Sonja fiasco derailed me a little bit. The muffins took bloody ages, and yesterday I threw ten of them away, covered in mould, a dismal failure.

Turns out there is a kind of muffin my family won’t eat. Bran with stewed dates? That was it.

Because of the disheartening feeling I got from chucking out the muffins, I haven’t actually baked this week’s recipe as of yet. However, it’s only 8:30AM, and with any luck I’ll get to them later today. In the meantime, I know there are some of you who start your week with muffins, so here’s the recipe. It still has dates, but it looks a lot easier to put together.

If you’re doing this as a project with kids, rehydrate the dates ahead of time, as they need to be completely cooled before you can use them.

Enjoy!

The recipe

Combine in large bowl and cover with 1 cup of boiling water:

1 cup chopped dates

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 cup margarine or shortening

In small bowl, beat well

1 egg

Add to egg and mix well

1 small cup brown sugar (Note: I take this to mean that you don’t pack the sugar or worry about a level measure)

Add the egg & sugar to the cooled date mixture and stir until blended.

To this add & stir to moisten

1 cup bran

1 tsp baking powder

1 cup all-purpose flour

Bake at 375F for 15 – 20 minutes.

The process

Looks pretty simple, although chopping dates is a damn pain in the neck. Makes me wish I had a Slap-Chop.

The result

I’m so convinced that the result is going to be just as unappetizing as last week’s that I’m kind of hesitant to even make the effort. I will! But I am very skeptical.

I daresay if you were constipated, these would be a boon, however.

Next week

Honey Cornmeal! I’m excited to try these. You’ll need buttermilk or soured milk, honey, cornmeal, and raisins (I’m using dried cranberries because YUCK RAISINS).

6 comments on “Date

  1. MaryP says:

    They’re in the oven. I’ll let you know! The batter was quite yummy.

  2. MaryP says:

    Light, a little sweet for my taste, but I don’t have a huge sweet tooth. A nice, basic muffin. The kids loved them.

  3. Nicole says:

    You don’t really want a Slap Chop. We had one (LONG STORY, in which my mother and Jake feature prominently) but it totally did not work like that crazy Slap Chop guy said it would.

Leave a Reply

