Health Food Muffins

So, I did not bake muffins this weekend, at all. I spent most of yesterday in a sleep / wake cycle, where every time I sat down I drifted off, and the thought of baking anything just made me depressed.

When I do bake these, I’ll post a review – meantime, here is the recipe:

The recipe

Mix together in large bowl

1 and 1/4 cup all-purpose flour

2 tsp. baking powder

2 cups granola

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 tsp. salt

Blend in small bowl

1/3 cup oil

1 cup milk

1 tsp. vanilla

1/3 cup molasses

Pour wet ingredients over dry and stir just to moisten. Fill muffin cups and sprinkle tops with more granola.

Bake at 375F for 15 – 20 minutes.

Updated: 

I finally baked these a week late and was pleasantly surprised; they make a dense, chewy muffin that is almost like a granola bar, if a granola bar and a cake had come together to produce a delicious brood of muffin-babies.

Funny thing about these is that changing the type of granola would completely alter the taste and/or texture of the finished product.

I like them, as does the family.

5 comments on “Health Food Muffins

  1. MaryP says:

    Oh, dear. Are you sick? But then, Monday was a really good day, right? How are you?

  2. Hannah says:

    Sick of February, I think, mostly. We’ve had a storm bad enough to keep us indoors for the past three weekends… the one on Sunday just did me in. I’m better now. 🙂

  3. MaryP says:

    Done. Tasty. The batter was awfully soupy, so I added an extra quarter cup of flour to make it look more like muffin and less like cake batter. Our granola has dried blueberries and raspberries in it … so do the muffins. Quite nice. It made twelve decent-sized muffins.

  4. Nicole says:

    I love those old “health food” things in recipes. Granola, adding wheat germ, whatever. I think these look yummy though. I do love me some granola. I’m such a hippie. Next thing you know I’ll be trading in my lipstick for natural lip balm and stop shaving my legs.

Leave a Reply

