Chips n’ Bran

Another bran muffin – with chocolate chips this time. We’re busting loose!

This weekend we had an old-timey nor’easter; snow, ice pellets, and hurricane-force winds for two days. By some miracle, we didn’t lose our power. We were, however, trapped in the house. Apparently being storm-stayed turns me into a 1950s housewife; I baked, cooked, and cleaned without indulging in much complaining at all.

The muffins got made on Sunday morning, and I then spent the rest of Sunday shooing the kids away from them – so I think we’ll call that a success.

The recipe

Sift together in large bowl

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

5 tsp. baking powder

3/4 tsp. salt

1 cup white sugar

Stir into flour mixture

1/3 cup chocolate or butterscotch chips (note: I used dark chocolate chips)

1 1/4 cups natural bran

Mix together in small bowl

2 eggs, well beaten

1 cup milk

1 tsp. vanilla

1/2 cup vegetable oil

Add egg mixture to flour and stir to blend.

Bake at 375F for 20 minutes. Makes 18 muffins.

The process

Easy-peasy, this one was. Nothing to it. Batter went together in a snap. Unfortunately it tasted nasty to me… all I could get was the chemical baking powder taste, and I was worried that this one wouldn’t turn out. I got even more worried when I realized it was going to make 18 good-sized muffins – what if I ended up with a huge batch of muffins that no one would eat? But I forged ahead.

Because my oven doesn’t heat evenly anymore, I rotated the pans at the 10-minute mark. One of the muffins fell as I moved it – just completely collapsed in the middle – so be careful when you’re baking them.

The result

Better than the Old-Fashioned Bran, not nearly as good as the Honey Bran. In fact I started imagining the Honey Bran with added chocolate chips and that seemed like a really good idea. These are quite light – not surprising given all that baking powder – and the taste is fine, although I suspect without the chocolate chips they’d be pretty bland and boring. However, 1/3 cup of chocolate chips spread out over 18 muffins isn’t what I’d call an excessive amount of chocolate, and I’d guess they are reasonably high in fibre thanks to all the bran.

The kids loved them, Michael approved, and these are a good go-to recipe if you need a largish batch of something for the week’s lunches. A nice alternative to, say, a chocolate chip granola bar.

Next week

The recipe is called “Health Food”, which I find simultaneously alarming and hilarious. You will need two cups of granola and 1/3 cup of molasses. Ah yes – this recipe dates from a time when ‘granola’ was automatically super-healthy hippie-feed.

3 comments on “Chips n’ Bran

  1. MaryP says:

    “Super-healthy hippie feed.” The children gather round. “Why are you laughing, Mary?” Hee.

  2. […] Vegetable: Cucumber-mint salad Main: Southwest bean stew*, baking powder biscuits Dessert: butterscotch-bran muffins (Updated to add: Today is going to be a gross day out there — freezing rain, ice pellets, […]

  3. Nicole says:

    I have never even considered adding chips to bran muffins. But now I’m going to!

Leave a Reply

