Old Fashioned Bran

Another bran muffin!

I love bran muffins. Last week’s honey bran were so good that it almost seemed silly to even bother with a different bran muffin recipe, but why not, I say? And this one was fun – the recipe reads like one that Dorothy must have made many times from memory, and felt compelled to try and write down.

The recipe

Cream together

1/4 cup shortening (the size of an egg)

pinch salt

3/4 cup brown sugar

In a measuring cup, dissolve

1 small tsp baking soda into 1/2 cup soured milk

Add milk mixture to butter & sugar.

Add to mixture

1 cup cooking bran

Add to mixture

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

As a variation, you can add cooked dates with the flour.

Bake at 350F for 15 minutes. Makes 12 small muffins.

The process

I love this recipe because it uses one bowl. Just one! And you fling everything in and mix it by hand. Clean up was a breeze. For sheer ease of assembly, this reminds me of the Basic Muffins from week one. This took next to no time to throw together.

Next time I would double the recipe, though. In this house, 12 muffins don’t go very far at the best of times, and these are quite small.

I would also try adding different types of fruit – I bought a bunch of dried cranberries on a two-for-one sale this weekend, and they would be a lovely addition to this very simple recipe.

The result

These are very basic, utilitarian muffins. Perhaps a trifle dry – these would benefit from a little smear of butter or even peanut butter for a protein hit. If you don’t like bran muffins, steer clear; they taste like bran and have the slightly grainy texture I think of when I remember healthy bran muffins from my childhood.

As cheesy perhaps as this sounds, these are retro. No fuss, no muss, will not set the world on fire, but easy, healthy, and tasty.

Next week

Carrot pineapple! Michael’s favourite kind of muffin. You will need carrots and a can of crushed pineapple.

3 comments on “Old Fashioned Bran

  1. allison says:

    I love bran muffins (only unadulterated, though – no dried anything must sully the muffin). I also love one-bowl recipes.

  2. MaryP says:

    I found the batter incredibly dry. Really, it was crumbly powder, not a ‘batter’ at all. There was no pouring that stuff into the muffin tin, so I kept adding milk, probably another half-cup in all, till I had a batter that would pour.

    The result? Pretty good muffins, but I like last week’s Honey Bran much, much better, so those will be my fallback bran muffins. Nom.

    (And may I say thank you for these weekly muffins? I’m really enjoying this!)

  3. […] than the Old-Fashioned Bran, not nearly as good as the Honey Bran. In fact I started imagining the Honey Bran with added […]

Leave a Reply

