Chunky Apple

All yesterday evening, I had this nagging feeling that I was forgetting something. Chores? No, they were as done as they needed to be. Lunches packed? Yup. Kids to soccer on time? Done.

I finally shrugged it off and spent two hours texting back and forth with my youngest sister, only to have a Twitter friend point out that what I’d forgotten was muffins.

Oops.

Anyway, I think I’d forgotten them accidentally-on-purpose, because I was not looking forward to this recipe at all. It just didn’t sound very good from the recipe, and I wasn’t really motivated to try them.

However, I got back on track this morning, making them in my new KitchenAid stand mixer named Igor, which is like taking a bazooka to a knife fight but whatever, the wire whisk attachment for beating eggs makes me happy.

The recipe

Beat

1/4 cup vegetable oil

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 egg

1 tbsp. cream (the recipe didn’t specify so I used 10% – blend or half-and-half)

Stir into oil mixture

1 1/2 cups peeled chopped apples

1/2 cup raisins

Sift into oil mixture and stir to blend

1 cup all-purpose OR whole wheat flour (I used whole wheat)

3/4 tsp. baking soda

3/4 tsp. salt

1 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. cinnamon

1/4 tsp. nutmeg

Top with cinnamon-sugar.

375F for 20 minutes. Makes 10 muffins.

The process

Because I left this until this morning, and because I really needed something for dayhome snack, I ended up doing this one with an almost-5yo, an almost-3yo, and a 2.5yo helping me. They promptly got incredibly bored and fidgety while I peeled and chopped three medium-sized apples. The whole time I was peeling and chopping, I was thinking of last week’s Blender Apple recipe and wondering why in god’s name anyone would make a muffin with apple chunks when they could whiz their way to happiness in their blender.

Otherwise this was very straightforward. It made a tiny amount of insanely chunky batter. Like, scoops of it held their shape because it was half chunks. I ended up with more than enough batter for an even dozen muffins, too.

I baked these for the full twenty minutes… at least… because my oven is on another floor of the house and I’m pretty sure the timer was going off for a minute or two while I was trapped in the bathroom with a potty-training child.

The result

Because of the probable over-baking, these are very brown. They also didn’t get rise much at all, although given all the chunks this is hardly surprising.

I tasted one in the interests of science and I didn’t like it at all. The texture turned me off completely. It was granular (because of the whole wheat flour, no doubt); chunky (as advertised); with rather too-moist bits around the raisins. It was just… too much. This muffin was too much of everything, and I didn’t like it at all.

The kids, on the other hand, thought it was just fine. Apples! Raisins! IT’S A MUFFIN! And with the whole wheat this one is really pretty good for you, especially if you swapped the vegetable oil for canola or even applesauce.

I wouldn’t make this one again, but maybe it will work for you. If you make it with all-purpose flour, let me know in the comments what you think.

4 comments on “Chunky Apple

  1. allison says:

    Wow. I know your dayhome kids can be challenging, but the fact that they’ll eat muffins made with whole wheat flour and with CHUNKS in them makes them pretty admirable to me.

    • Hannah says:

      If it’s in muffin form, they’ll eat it. So far, anyway. We’ll see what happens when we hit the infamous cornmeal & tuna muffins in a couple of months…

      You’re right, though. The two I have now are actually pretty good at eating whatever little treats I make for them. I don’t stop to think about it much but I am very lucky that they aren’t super-picky come snack time.

  2. MaryP says:

    Wow. You’ve really pumped up my enthusiasm to try THIS one! Snort.

    However, I promised the kids that when my friend Hannah-on-the-Computer (kind of like Stow-on-the-Wold, or Stratford-upon-Avon, only a person) had posted her recipe, we’d try it, so we’re about to start. I’ll give you feedback when we’re done!

  3. MaryP says:

    Okey-doke. Done! I changed up the recipe quite a bit, though. Noting what you’d said about the small amount of batter, I doubled everything except the apples and raisins. (And the egg, which I totally forgot, oops, but which the doubled recipe didn’t appear to miss at all.) I used white flour, as I pretty nearly always do for muffins (and cakes, cupcakes, and cookies, all treats, not real food, anyway…). The batter still looked awfully stiff and dry, so I kept adding cream until I had a nice, thick, satiny batter.

    MY muffins were terrific!! But they really weren’t Pat’s muffins… 😛

Leave a Reply

