Blender Apple

Happy New Year!

Yes, this post is several days late. Both Michael and I were off work over Christmas and without all the extra-curricular activities and responsibilities of our normal, day-to-day lives, I promptly became a relaxed sloth who read several trashy novels and completely lost track of what day of the week it was.

It was nice.

But! Yesterday the dayhome reopened and I suddenly realized that I had not made muffins – my go-to snack solution for the kiddos. I spent half an hour painstakingly removing seeds from enough (discount) grapes to feed six kids – because today’s modern children are unfamiliar with the concept of fruit having seeds – and swearing that the minute they went to bed, I would get back on the muffin train.

The recipe

Sift in medium bowl

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

2 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. cinnamon

Mix in blender

2/3 cup milk

1 egg

1/3 cup vegetable oil

3/4 cup brown sugar

2 medium red apples, cored, unpeeled

1/4 cup nuts

Add wet to dry. Sprinkle unbaked muffins with cinnamon-sugar.

375F, 30 minutes. Makes 14 muffins.

The process

Because I got caught with my pants down this week, the whole process was frustrating. I had to turn the whole wheat flour canister upside down and shake it to get the full half-cup. I kept getting the 1/2 teaspoon and 1/4 teaspoon measures mixed up (and I’m still not sure I didn’t put in double the baking soda by mistake). I had to send Michael to the store to buy milk. The only nuts I had available to use were peanuts.

I was very skeptical about the whole-apples-in-the-blender situation. I don’t have an apple corer, so I cut my apples in quarters, crossed my fingers, and threw them into the blender on the “mix” setting, which is one of the higher speeds. This part worked great – within a minute the apples and peelings were completely pulverized, the peanuts likewise, and the wet ingredients had pretty red flecks from the peelings. Clever! I like it!

Aside: This feels very much like the kind of recipe that comes with the instruction manual for a new appliance. Can’t you see the ad copy now? The Housewife’s Deluxe Super EZ Blender! Not just for drinks anymore!

I completely forgot the cinnamon-sugar, although given that these are meant to be healthy snacks for young children that’s probably not a bad thing.

Dorothy’s recipe said this makes 11 muffins, which is just wrong – I had enough batter to make 14 large muffins and one smallish one, and if I’d filled the muffin cups halfway instead of three-quarters I’d have had 16, easily.

All in all by the time these were in the oven I had very little faith that these would work out.

The result

These muffins rose a ridiculous amount, thus fueling my conviction that I put in too much baking soda. Other possibility: I saw on some cooking show over the break that recipes with baking soda / baking powder need to rest for a few minutes after mixing, to give them time to form the air bubbles that help the batter to rise. Because I couldn’t find the right size muffin cups at first, this batter did rest and maybe that’s why they rose so much. No idea, although I am going to try that trick again to see if it works.

Thirty minutes was way too long; at the 15 minute mark they were already risen and starting to develop a crust. At 20 minutes they were basically done; I left them in for a couple of minutes more to let them brown up a little. Bottom line – watch these carefully.

When finished, they tasted just fine, if a trifle bland. I like the blender method; you get the fruit & fibre content of whole apples without any chunks or tedious chopping. That’s pretty slick.

Turns out I just do not like the taste of peanuts in muffins. To me, it was too overpowering.

Michael liked these just fine, and the texture is nice. I think I’d make them again, leaving out the nuts but maybe adding another small apple, and bumping up the seasoning all around – more cinnamon would be nice, and maybe a touch of vanilla.

Next week: Chunky Apple

Ingredients you may not have on hand: 1 tbsp. cream, 1/2 cup raisins

6 comments on “Blender Apple

  1. MaryP says:

    Oh, I loved these! I noted your comment about them being bland, so I put in 3/4 teaspoon cinnamon, and bumped the apples from two medium, to two small and a medium. I used walnuts. (I had a choice of almonds and walnuts, and decided walnuts, being softer, would blend better.)

    They were moist yet airy, and had a nice crisp edge to them. My son had a friend over, and they devoured a few with their breakfast. (At 1:00 p.m., ahem.)

    But mostly what I loved was the use of the blender. I will never peel and grate another apple for muffins, ever again! Whee, the freedom!

  2. Nicole says:

    I don’t know why, but this recipe has me very puzzled. Would this not be…applesauce? Or are the apple pieces all chunky in which case NO THANKS. Also – with nuts? Maybe it’s just my weird post-stomach-flu-or-possibly-food-poisoning haze but this seems strange.

    • Hannah says:

      It’s not applesauce – the apples grind up so fine that the liquid ingredients are just the consistency of the milk. There are no chunks of apple at all!

      Plus, speaking for myself, I always have apples on hand but I don’t always have applesauce, so this is a nice easy way to incorporate apples into my kid-friendly baking with a minimum of effort. 🙂

  3. […] medium-sized apples. The whole time I was peeling and chopping, I was thinking of last week’s Blender Apple recipe and wondering why in god’s name anyone would make a muffin with apple chunks when […]

  4. […] Monday: First course: cucumber slices Main course: cheese omelette on toast Dessert: muffins […]

Leave a Reply

