Apple Cinnamon

OK, I know, I’m a day late and a dollar short. This weekend was dedicated to advance meal preparation for the week – with Christmas coming, there is a massive decluttering & cleaning effort that needs to happen on a sustained basis, and so I’m experimenting with different time-management strategies to try and get everything done.

This meant that “bake muffins & then blog about it” was penciled in for 9PM yesterday. And by then I also had to climb Mount Laundry. So the muffins got baked – eventually – but I’m only getting around to writing about it today.

I’ll make every effort to get back on schedule for next week.

The recipe

Blend until smooth

1/2 cup butter or margarine, slightly softened

3/4 cup white sugar

1 egg, beaten

Add and mix well

1 cup buttermilk (I used regular milk, soured with lemon juice)

1 tsp.  salt

1 1/2 cups diced apples

Stir together. Add, stirring to moisten

1 cup all-purpose flour

3/4 cup whole wheat flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. cinnamon

Mix 1 tsp cinnamon with 2 – 3 tbsp. white sugar. Sprinkle on muffins before baking.

375F, 20 minutes. Made 17 muffins.

The process

I never buy buttermilk for baking; soured milk works just as well, it’s cheaper, and you never then have the problem of what to do with all the leftovers. Add 1 tablespoon of lemon juice to 1 cup of milk, stir, and let sit for five minutes. It will curdle and become acidic, which is just what you want. The acid in the soured milk will react with the baking soda to help your muffins rise.

I used an electric mixer on low to blend the butter, sugar, and egg – the butter was at room temperature so it went together quickly. The rest of the batter was a snap to assemble, although it didn’t look very appetizing, and it didn’t taste very good, either. I was a little concerned.

There was enough batter for 17 good-sized muffins. I shoved them in the oven and commenced cleaning up the kitchen… realizing five minutes later that I’d forgotten to sprinkle the tops with cinnamon & sugar. I always have to rotate the pans at the halfway point when I’m baking anyway, because I have a finicky Kenmore stove. I sprinkled at the ten-minute mark and it turned out fine.

The result

The muffins were done at 20 minutes, although be careful to lower your oven rack to the middle, as the cinnamon-sugar was just starting to brown when I pulled them out – too high in the oven and it would definitely scorch.

These muffins are… adequate. My first comment when I bit into one was “this tastes healthy”, and it does – the whole wheat flour gives them that grainy texture that says “you are not enjoying a sinful pleasure right now, you are having a Nutritious Muffin.” Although the sweet topping offsets that a little.

I also find I can taste the baking soda. Michael didn’t mention it but I find it pretty off-putting.

There are so many better muffin recipes in Dorothy’s book, including last week’s delicious “Laura’s Apple Muffins“, that I don’t think I would make this one again.

4 comments on “Apple Cinnamon

  1. MaryP says:

    Heh. And with that rousing endorsement, we are about to embark on the baking. I TOTALLY FORGOT Muffin Monday this week. Perhaps I got your no-post vibes from here??

  2. Hannah says:

    You were the one I was thinking of all day when I was trying to get to the muffins… so I’m glad you forgot. 😉

    These muffins would have seemed more impressive if they weren’t coming on the heels of last week’s, which were just so delicious that I suspect all other apple muffins will pale in comparison.

    • MaryP says:

      I found the batter tasty enough, perhaps because I accidentally tipped about two full tablespoons of cinnamon into the batter! The cooked version were okay, moist and dense, but like you, I found them not too flavourful. Just okay. Serviceable. Yes, last week’s were muuuuch better.

  3. Nicole says:

    I will NOT make these – apples should not be baked into anything, yuck, yuck. Bananas, now, that is different! I have STRONG FEELINGS about apples – they should be eaten raw, the end.

Leave a Reply

