Whole Wheat Banana

The last banana recipe in the batch. Hard to believe I’ve been doing this for six weeks already! And I’m sleepy from the time change, and very much looking forward to a cup of tea. Muffins go with tea! To the muffinatorium!

The recipe

Sift in small bowl

3/4 cup all-purpose flour

3/4 cup whole wheat flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

In large bowl, beat until mixed

1/3 cup oil

2/3 cup brown sugar

2 eggs

1 cup mashed banana

Add dry ingredients to banana mixture. Add 1/2 cup nuts if you wish. Combine 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, and sprinkle on top of each muffin before baking.

350F, 20 minutes.

The process

This recipe was another very simple one. No funny amounts or weird instructions here. Just straightforward dry ingredient / wet ingredient, combine, and go.

The batter was quite liquid. It made one dozen good-sized muffins. I could have stretched it to maybe 16 smaller muffins, had I been so inclined.

A word about the sugar & cinnamon topping: 1/4 cup of sugar makes way too much topping. I put a generous 1/2 teaspoon on each muffin and have loads left over. I’ll just pop it in an empty spice jar and use it for something else, but keep in mind that you will not need nearly as much topping as the recipe calls for.

I didn’t add any nuts; I have a new baby girl in my dayhome now, and her mom hasn’t introduced her to nuts yet. If I were to put nuts in this recipe, I think I’d chop them up fine and use them as topping with the cinnamon sugar rather than folding them into the batter.

The result

If anything smells better than sugar and cinnamon baking, I don’t know what it is. I would make these again for the smell alone.

The cinnamon-sugar topping adds a lovely sweetness and crunch. The muffin itself is surprisingly light given the whole wheat flour, and is moist with a nice banana flavour.

I quite like this one. It’s a good snack muffin, not as hearty & substantial some of the other banana muffins I’ve tried here, but very tasty and a lovely accompaniment to that cup of tea.

Next week: Laura’s Apple Muffins. I do not know who Laura was, but isn’t it fascinating to speculate? Also, Laura’s muffins call for shortening or margarine. Baker friends – will I be able to use butter instead?

 

7 comments on “Whole Wheat Banana

  1. MaryP says:

    Done!

    The Challenge: When I opened the container of whole wheat flour, there were weevils in there. Dead, but still. Guess it’s been longer than I realized since I used whole wheat flour. Urgh. The bin is now disinfecting in the sink, its contents securely tied in a plastic bag in the bin in the drive.

    But what about the muffins? In a twist I’m sure Pat never considered, I substituted teff flour, which I’d purchased ages ago to make injera, and never got around to. It worked just fine! The texture’s perhaps a teeny bit dry; maybe teff calls for a smidge more oil than whole wheat? It could also be that my bananas weren’t as ripe as is optimal for muffins.

    Anyway, I used it because it’s what I had. A little googling, and don’t I discover that teff flour is even more nutritious than whole wheat! Mwah-ha.

    And the muffins? Yummy!

  2. MaryP says:

    Hm. Seems this template doesn’t let you put links in your comments. The page I was intending to cite at “teff flour” was this one: http://www.tamaraduker.com/2009/01/teff-78-million-ethiopians-cant-be-wrong/

    • Hannah says:

      WEEVILS!!!!

      We got an infestation of weevils once; they came into the house in a box of Weetabix. Yuck yuck yuck.

      I’ve never even *heard* of teff flour. You’re brave. A little more oil would fix it; plus I have learned through baking all these banana recipes that the ripeness makes a huge difference.

      But they are yummy, right? The kids came home from school and pronounced them ‘fantastic’. The sugar topping was a big hit.

      • MaryP says:

        Weevils. Yuk. They must’ve been in the last bag of flour I dumped in the bin, because that thing seals pretty much air-tight. They hadn’t migrated to anything else, thank GOD.

        I tried the recipe with and without sugar topping. With is better. 😀

  3. Nicole says:

    I would use butter. My MIL uses only margarine in all her baking; the sole reason is the cost. I think this is a generational thing – butter being too expensive to use up in baking.

  4. Jada says:

    I’m making these when I have to send food in for the bake sale. They sound delicious. (and gah! Weevils!)

Leave a Reply

