Best Ever Banana

Dorothy is making a bold claim with this recipe. I mean, “best ever”? And yet there are two more banana-based recipes after this one? Why would you carry on, if you had already found the best ever recipe? Needless to say, I was skeptical.

Also, this recipe did not indicate the final quantity. I was surprised how much that worried me. Mind you, I was quite sick last night during muffin-baking – it almost didn’t happen, to be honest – so I was probably obsessing just a bit.

The recipe

In a large bowl, combine

3 large bananas – mashed

3/4 cup white sugar

1 egg, slightly beaten

Once combined, add 1/3 cup melted butter and mix well.

In a small bowl, sift together

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. baking powder

Add dry to wet. Bake.

375F, 20min.

The process

I think I’m getting better at this muffin thing, because even though I had a raging sore throat and a slight fever, and thus I didn’t actually start baking until 10PM, this recipe still went together easily. The batter is nice and smooth with a bit of puff, and by the way, tastes incredible. I could have just eaten the batter with a spoon and been happy.

Pouring the batter in the muffin cups was stressful, because there were no notes about how many muffins, or how full the cups should be, or anything of the kind. I settled for filling them about 3/4 full, which gave me 13 muffins, and then enough left over to make one half-muffin. This morning, after some coffee and cold medication, I realize that I should have just spread that last bit around and made an even dozen, but last night I could not solve that problem.

I’m stupid when I’m sick.

Shortly after they went into the oven, my youngest child – Baby G, aged 9mos – woke with a screaming fit that ultimately lasted two hours and required both earplugs and floor-walking. Michael was in charge of getting the muffins out and by the time we had switched tasks, they were out of the tin and I had eaten one. It didn’t even occur to me to take a picture until this morning, by which time it was too late. Oops.

The result

These may very well be the Best Ever Banana Muffins. Holy moley, they are SO GOOD. The finished muffin is sweet and moist, with a hint of richness from the butter and a delicious banana flavour. There will be none left by the end of the day, guaranteed. I will definitely be making this one again. The two year olds in the dayhome hoovered them up without chewing and asked for more; even sick Ron bestirred himself enough to eat one, proclaimed it “very very yummy”, and then crawled back to bed for a nap.

If I had the bananas available, I would make another batch right now. Yes, they are that good.

Next week – Banana Oatmeal. I’m keen to taste that one, too, although it will be damn hard not to compare it to this recipe. 

3 comments on “Best Ever Banana

  1. Nicole says:

    It is STILL killing me that there is no vanilla in these recipes! However, my kids do like banana muffins so I will give them a try.

  2. MaryP says:

    MMMmmmm! I think I liked last week’s batter better than this, but the finished muffins were really good! It might be because I used cooking spray to grease the cups (I was out of paper liners), but the top rim of the muffins was crispy. NOM!

    Also, they rose a LOT. The batter filled the cups barely half full, but the finished muffins domed beautifully above the top edge of the cup.

Leave a Reply

